College · Uncategorized

4 Ways to Prepare for a Successful School Year

Summer is almost over ( 😢 ) and the school year is almost here. In preparing for the new school year there are somethings you can do now to help make this the best school year yet. Here are 4 ways to prepare yourself for a new school year, specifically for college.

4 ways to prepare

1. Buy a planner

My biggest suggestion for starting a new school year is to make sure you are organized. The biggest help for me to stay organized is to buy a planner and then use it. I make sure I write down all of my assignments, tests, and important dates in my planner. I really like the planners from Target. They are inexpensive and have enough space for everything. I also really like the planners from Rifle Paper Co, even though they are more expensive.

2. Make a list of all of the things you will need

I am a list maker. When going back to school it is important for me to make a list of all of the things I’m going to need. There are many back-to-school lists on Pinterest. Since this will be my Senior year of college I don’t have a whole lot to buy. Some of the things on my shopping list this year are printer ink, paper, pens, notebooks, and maybe new bedding. I also list out the things I will need to bring back to school from home. Having a list makes it so you wont forget anything.

3. Buy your books (and make sure you need them)

If you are anything like me, you wait until the last minute to buy your books. In order to have a successful school year, it’s best to buy your books ahead of time. I look up my books on my schools bookstore website then look them up on Amazon to see which is cheaper. Another of my tricks is to check ratemyprofessor.com to find out if you actually are going to need to buy the book.

4. Get mentally prepared

This looks different for everyone. I make sure that I am getting enough sleep, have all of my supplies prepared, and take sometime for myself before school starts (like going to the nail salon). I also like to have fun days with my friends right before school starts in preparation for the stresses of the year.


 

Let me know if there are other things you do to prepare for a successful school year. Let’s enjoy the last of the summer!

-Jenna

Leave a Reply

